A Principle of Writing

"The best writing is re-writing" E.B. White

Is Writing a Form of Madness? Portrait of a Writer

with 29 comments

I was listening to the radio last night. There was a man who previously worked in a psychiatric ward being interviewed. He said that madness was anyone who for some reason couldn’t cope with the day-to-day reality of life or that the reality of life couldn’t cope with them.

I can relate to this. I am never quite sure if it’s me that can’t cope with life or if it’s life that can’t cope with me? Either way, I find that most days life simply interferes with my writing. Or perhaps it’s my writing that interferes with life.

Things like earning money, paying bills, buying food and eating are a sheer irritation for me and I’d happily live without them. Other things like home repairs, walking the dog and going to the supermarket are forms of torture. They eat into my headspace and steal from valuable writing hours.

Does that make me mad?

It goes further. Most people spend their lives searching for their other half. That perfect relationship, that elusive other, that person who makes them feel whole. I’ve tried this. I’ve dabbled in the relationship game.

For the first few weeks, it usually works out fine. I guess this is what they call the ‘honeymoon period.’ Once that phase is over I find my ‘other’ wants more time than I have available. While ‘other’ wants to do things like hang out, watch TV, enjoy each other’s company, I want to be alone so I can write.

By the time another few weeks pass, I am so guilt-ridden due the lack of time I’ve spent writing, I resent the ‘other’ so much I’m close to meltdown. By then I know I need to remove myself. I could just walk away. But no. That would be the actions of a sane person.

Instead I cause problems. I make it difficult for ‘other’ to be around me, so much so that they end up resenting me. Eventually they tire so much of my short temper, they run a mile.

At first I’m hurt. Then I return to my writing schedule. After a few weeks, I feel normal again. I am not going to lie and say I never feel lonely. But at least the guilt of not writing is gone. I find loneliness is much easier to live with than guilt.

I suppose my madness manifests itself most strongly in my attitude to work. The whole world is set up on the basis that people work to generate money, earn a living and buy stuff. People get up in the morning. They go to work. At the end of the workday, they return home and back to their real lives.

I work from home, so firstly I never go anywhere. There are no set hours to my work schedule. Writing is my life. I do it all day long and sometimes into the night. I don’t have a life to return home to. I have a laptop. It is my life.

Yes, I realise that things would be much easier if I had a ‘normal’ working life. For starters, I’d probably earn a decent wage. I’d be able to buy food, invite friends round, cook meals. I’d interact with the world.

I’d pay bills. I’d wouldn’t be constantly wondering if this will be the week that the electricity gets cut off or the dog goes hungry. I’d buy that new blanket for the bed. I’d buy that new pair of shoes I need.

The thing is I just don’t have the interest or the inclination to think about these things. No doubt if I had kids, I’d be different. If I had kids it’d be impossible for me to be so selfish. I’d be forced to think about things other than how can I finish that chapter or edit that short story or make a poem from that encounter.

The truth is these are the only things I care about. When I fall asleep at night sentences swarm my brain. They are the lines I need to finish a poem. They are the start of the chapter I’ve been thinking about. They are the finish to a short story that’s been plaguing me.

Because the words plague me. They are with me first thing in the morning. They are with me throughout the day. They are the last thing I think of before I fall asleep. They haunt my dreams.

My writing world is a private one. None of my fiction has been published and Penguin still don’t know I exist. This gives others free reign to think how I spend my time is sheer madness. I regularly have to deal with comments such as, ‘that writing game is a waste of time’ and ‘why don’t you get a real job.’

I hear those comments but I block them out. They are missing the point. They don’t make me write faster or try harder. Writing is not like that. You can’t rush it. It simply is what it is and when it’s ready, I’ll know.

In the interim I’ll continue to live like a pauper and appear a little mad to the outside world. My successes will be tiny personal breakthroughs but I’ll never give up. I don’t think there is anything mad about being persistent.

Here’s the really mad bit. When I don’t write, particularly my novel (I’ve been working on it for years, is that mad?) I go a bit loopy. I feel disconnected. My mood is sour. I stop eating. I can’t sleep. Nothing makes sense. Life has no purpose. I go bi-polar.

Conclusion? I’m probably totally bonkers. But if I was truly mad, I’d be a genius. Sadly there is nothing genius about me. I take solace in this. It means, I’m probably quite sane. I’m just a writer.

Written by In The Write Light

February 10, 2012 at 3:30 pm

Posted in creative writing

Tagged with ,

29 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Natasha,

    No, you are not crazy and one of these days you will finish your novel and it will probably sell. I like your description of yourself as a writer. I believe writers are people who see the world differently than the rest of the people in the world. Through our gifted creative minds, we are able to go down to the deepest pits or climb the highest heights.

    I can relate to a lot of what you write. That is why I take my iPad everywhere I go. I never know when a thought will go racing by that belongs to one of my books or one of my short stories. Keep on writing because I really enjoyed your blog and think that I will enjoy your book also.
    Ciao,
    Patricia

    patgarcia

    February 10, 2012 at 3:47 pm

    • Thanks for the support Patricia … we’re definitely a different breed alright! 😉

      inthewritelight

      February 10, 2012 at 4:03 pm

  2. I’m a novice. No, I’m not even a novice, I’m a nobody that has yet to write much of anything. However, as I read your blog, I thought you were describing me and my life. I never knew that anyone else could even come close to guessing what goes on in my life, much less my head.

    It’s nice to know that I am not alone, even though I am so rarely in the company of others, especially others such as you and me.

    TJ Bren

    February 10, 2012 at 4:30 pm

    • I remember a tutor telling me once that even though we are alone when we write, we must never forget the countless writers who have gone before us and always surround us; the millions who are attempting to do the same thing. When I write I like to think that Joyce, Nabakov, Bukowski and Capote were once where I am right now … possibly a little narcissistic of me, but what the hey, you gotta start somewhere and if it helps the word-flow, I’m free to think what I like! 😉 Get writing buddy, who knows where it will take you.

      inthewritelight

      February 10, 2012 at 5:37 pm

  3. Loved this article, thank you. I am at the point of having gone a full month without writing properly and am at possibly my most psychotic at the moment. So this has made me calm and nudged me back towards the comfort and safety of my writing world….thank you xx

    Bex

    February 10, 2012 at 4:34 pm

    • Thanks for reading Bex and for reminding me I am not the only psychotic one …

      inthewritelight

      February 10, 2012 at 5:38 pm

      • Surely someone so dedicated to language would make sure they were using words properly? People with psychosis are psychotic, not people who are obsessed with their work and sometimes might forget to eat…

        Also-a-writer

        February 12, 2012 at 12:45 pm

      • poetic license darling…

        inthewritelight

        February 12, 2012 at 2:28 pm

  4. You basically just described my life. I Would love to read some of your poetry.

    Phlegethon

    February 10, 2012 at 5:35 pm

  5. Just wrote about how hard it is to survive life while images and words keep pouring in. Can’t escape them, eh?

    flowtops

    February 10, 2012 at 9:42 pm

  6. Yup, You are truly mad, thank goodness! But there is good mad (You and me) and bad mad, those not in full control of mental faculties. We might be short a few marbles, but the real madmen are missing most of theirs.

    Define what’s crazy or nuts? It’s different from odd, independent, creative and imaginative. The latter group represents better who we are. I like who I am and I’m getting better at it all the time.

    Where eagles fly, Don

    http://www.solsticepublishing.com/categories/Coming-Soon/

    Don Ford

    February 11, 2012 at 3:45 am

  7. Fantastic! I for one totally understand you! I’m pretty much in the same boat so if you’re mad…that makes me mad too! Maybe we are, but I’m not convinced that’s a bad thing and I know for sure I wouldn’t want you out of my life! 😉

    Lee Chapman

    February 11, 2012 at 7:33 am

  8. I can only write when I’m deeply depressed – my bipolar condition means that this happens about once every 6 months. When I’m in it, when I’m depressed, I have the best literary ideas. I’m funny, I’m dark, I touch people. When I eventually pull myself out of it (or when the tablets do it for me), I lose the will to write. I lose the energy and the time. When I’m depressed, life is a dark but blank canvas and the hours pass so slowly I can get so much writing done. I can be cheerful in my writing in a way I can’t be in real life. The real insanity of it all is the guilt I feel when I’m not writing. As you say loneliness trumps guilt, but I’m embarrassed to admit that when it comes to my writing, sometimes even depression trumps guilt. I’m like the lyricist who can only write songs when they have lost love.

    Lovely blog by the way and I wish you all the success that I had in my fantasy life! xx

    FrustratedPoet

    February 11, 2012 at 10:12 am

    • Thanks for reading and for sharing; your conundrum really touches me. I’m fascinated by what you pen when in the depths of despair. It’s said that true writing or words of worth come not from us but from our subconscious. This is when we don’t actually think about the words, we just let them flow. Clearly, while depressed, you are more in touch with your subconscious and that’s why it’s fascinating. I know what you mean about being depressed but still being able to write funny words. This is hard for others to understand but just because we write dark or sad words it doesn’t necessarily follow that we are dark or sad. We’re simply searching for the absurd, because when you think about it, life is utterly absurd. Perhaps one day I’ll get to read some of your words … hope so. xx

      inthewritelight

      February 11, 2012 at 1:32 pm

  9. Your blog made me smile for I am misanthropic myself. I go through sociable phases though but most of the time I am quite happy to be alone. Sometimes it seems I am the only one capable of having an intelligent conversation.
    http://lkwattsconfessions.blogspot.com

    LKWatts

    February 11, 2012 at 4:16 pm

  10. I’m a historian and my writing is just as obsessive but is more like tidal movement – I research until I’m full, then I have to churn something out. sonce I work most days, this is a good way to keep blogging. am not sure if this is madness. If so then almost evey human behaviour can be defined as mad. Hmmmm

    Barb Drummond

    February 11, 2012 at 9:37 pm

    • In order to become really good at something we have to get addicted to it, obsessed by it, it consumes us … some addictions are better than others ….

      inthewritelight

      February 11, 2012 at 10:04 pm

  11. Oh so refreshing to read this and realize I am not alone in thinking or feeling this way.

    Krysten H

    February 11, 2012 at 11:40 pm

  12. […] was anyone who for some reason couldn’t cope with the … (Is writing a form of madness?Via inthewritelight.wordpress.com Share this:EmailPrintFacebookStumbleUponRedditDiggRelated […]

  13. This was a breath of fresh air for me. I’ve always wondered about the connection between the artist and psychosis. It’s just that , there is no room in the world for those of us who choose to immerse ourselves in our true selves because we are going against the grain. I don’t believe everyone was meant to wake up and go to a job, stay at it all day, and then return home. That’s why some people die in the process of “performing” this life. Thank you for voicing that which some of us are thinking but not articulating.

    ewurabasempe

    February 12, 2012 at 9:27 pm

  14. I find this article pathetic, self indulgent, and whining. Some of the greatest writers of all time had to do it after the day’s labor was over. So what if you don’t get what you want all the time? No one does. I pity your dog, who has to live with an owner who cares more about herself and her desires than about his health and well being. Thank Heaven you never had children, I can just imagine the blame and the guilt you would have put on them. There is a world out there, you know. You may not be the center of it, but it offers a lot to be learned and enjoyed.

    ILIL ARBEL

    February 13, 2012 at 1:51 am

    • No worries Ilil. I see you put a comment also on Women’s Memoir in LinkedIn which totally contradicts this opinion but of course you’re entitled to all your opinions. I feel sorry for my dog too. But don’t worry she gets lots of fresh air and I go with her. The piece is intended to illustrate the moments of despair WE all feel and yet demonstrate how we all write on regardless. It’s absolutely self-indulgent. But that’s just one of my feelings. I have many and I draw on them all for inspiration. I admire the greatest writers of all time and don’t expect to ever take a place amongst their annals but I shall continue to dream. What makes them great is their belligerent pursuit of their craft. Every day I aim for an ounce of their commitment. Who knows I may one day have kids and I will make the necessary sacrifices just as I make the necessary sacrifices to write. Thanks for reading.

      inthewritelight

      February 14, 2012 at 9:53 am

  15. very well written. articulately expressed. enjoyed immensely!

    zainab

    February 13, 2012 at 7:53 am

  16. Plato said that love is a kind of madness, “a divine madness.”

    Writing is my life, even if it is not the world of every person. I do not feel so passionately about anything else. To avoid boredom and madness, I write. What I seek is a healthy unconcern toward results. If they notice, okay. If they don’t, okay.

    Remember the Man of La Mancha by Dale Wasserman and Joe Darion?
    Too much sanity
    may be madness.
    And the maddest of all,
    to see life as it is
    and not as it should be.

    I refuse to stop writing just because it seems madness. I insist on the right to write. It matters that I keep on writing. Like the great Isadora Duncan, who, when asked why she danced, once said, “The dance is the explanation.”

    If none one ever reads this comment, that’s fine. If you read it and it doesn’t speak to you, that’s okay too.
    We’re all headed for the same destination, but we are on different paths and have other questions.

    Thanks for the comments and the discussion.

    (These ideas are from my published book, SEX, LIVES & STORIES, MEMOIR OF A FRUSTRUSTRATED WRITER. (http://CreateSpace.com/3592005)

    Jackie Woolley

    February 15, 2012 at 4:44 pm

  17. I was a young girl when I first started to write, but the stops and starts have taken their toll. It’s not that I don’t have some good publishing credits. I’m just not the kind of writer I wanted to be. You know, the bestseller kind. What really galls me is the fact that the book store in my hometown has never carried my stuff. (Never mind the unstable psyche that thinks only those who knew me then can validate my life a success now.)

    A few months ago, a significant age landmark was approaching , and I was sick with a serious bout of flu and bronchitis. I lay in bed that night, thinking I had spent my life helping others fulfill their dreams, hoping that one day it would be my turn. After all, I am a professional in other areas. Suddenly, I knew clearly that if I didn’t do something drastic, I would never finish what I really set out to do—be a serious writer of books. Horrified that I was stuck within shouting distance of my dream, I took the plunge. I had rarely spent a night alone, yet I proposed to my husband over coffee the next morning that I move to the lake. “I don’t need to quit my day job,” I said, referring to the office work I did for our small company. “I’ll become a telecommuter.” I redesigned my life as I talked: “I can set up a satellite office and send my work on the computer back to the office by modem.” He looked at me as if I’d announced I was going to don black leather and ride a Harley to the north shores of Newfoundland. Why did I want to deliberately isolate myself from Computer City and live where there is a tiny library, no Total Fitness, and no pizza delivery? He knows I am terrified of the dark woods, snakes, and things that go bang in the dark.

    I wanted to either purge myself of a lifetime of writing urges or quit and be done with it. I sought closure, something psychologists say the human mind naturally pursues. I decided to spend the next twelve moons on an internal trip, starting with the reasons I began to write in the first place. It is not a journey to save the world, but to save myself. Serious as this sounds, I also hope to have a little fun along the way and make up for the sobriety of my youth.

    The author’s story is in the book; it is personal yet universal and chronicles my life at Lake Livingston for a year. My search follows the seasons and my growing awareness that humanity is a part of nature, with all its divine mysteries. It gently offers the wisdom of my own spiritual questions. As I deal with living alone and my fears of solitude (my best advice is to think lofty thoughts and grit your teeth), I gradually begin to understand that I write for reasons other than success. I reaffirm that my ability to write is a calling, a gift from God, and He never promised all books would be bestsellers.

    This internal story could have taken place anywhere, but it has been especially molded by myr being at Lake Livingston. Not because it is the only place I could have done it, but because the Big Thicket is a natural area of silence and beauty and has a special sense of place. The book does not end with a summary of my current blockbusters. It ends with admitting that the best part of writing is the process itself. Anyhow, it hurts too much to quit.

    I feel somewhat better about my writing, but I can never be cured. Because what ails me is a life question, not a simple economic query.

    This book is dedicated to the millions of writers out there who have heard the call but never had the thrill of a twenty-city publicity tour, a review in Publisher’s Weekly or an appearance on the Today show. This personal experience book is for beginners as well as advanced writers and goes beyond mere self-help in the craft of writing.

    Gary Provost once advised in a Writer’s Digest article that, “If you want to become rich and famous, it’s not enough to write well. You have to write about things that huge numbers of people want to read.” And that is what this book is about.

    Jackie Woolley

    February 15, 2012 at 5:20 pm

    • I have been here and there since I posted this. Even had a heart attack! Now I am off again to the Story Circle Conference, Austin, Texas. I’ll come back with my head full of stories to tell. There’s no end of stories as long as I live. They all belong to me. I have the right to tell them anyway I remember them even if it differs from what Mom or my sister remembers.

      I’m working on the 2nd printing of The Sound of Windmills. (http://CreateSpace.com/3496902). Come to think of it, I’m working some on the4 2nd printing of Sex, Lies & Stories, Memoir of a Frustrated Writer too (http://CreateSpace.com/3592005)

      If should go home to God today, that’s fine with me. At least I got to write what I wanted while I lived. Not many can say that!

      Jackie Woolley

      April 13, 2012 at 9:36 am

  18. Reading other comments made me think of these two things:

    ‘For that fine madness still he did retain
    Which rightly should possess a poet’s brain.’ – Michael Drayton

    To anyone who hasn’t read ‘Touched With Fire: Manic Depressive Illness and the Artistic Temperament’ by Kay Redfield Jamison, I highly recommend it. Fascinating book. Chapters on Byron, Henry James etc..

    phlegethon

    February 17, 2012 at 10:42 pm


Leave a comment